City Council News A partial view of the Moores Mill Shopping Center property as it appears today.

Published on October 21st, 2015 |

0

Councilwoman seeks $800,000 in impact fees for Moores Mill Rd. project

Determined not to let more than a decade of community expectations and hard work end up in disappointment, Dist. 9 Atlanta City Councilwoman Felicia Moore again this week introduced an

Dist. 9 Atlanta City Councilwoman Felicia Moore

Dist. 9 Atlanta City Councilwoman Felicia Moore

ordinance to appropriate $800,000 in Transportation Impact Fees to fund the construction of the entire long-awaited Moores Mill Road Extension.

With the signature support of other Buckhead City Council members Yolanda Adrean, Howard Shook, Mary Norwood and Alex Wan, along with several other council members, the ordinance was referred to the city’s Finance Committee, which likely will discuss it on Wednesday, Oct. 28, at 1 p.m.

The ordinance is expected to come before the meeting of the full City Council on Monday, Nov. 2, at 1 p.m. Both the Finance Committee and full council meetings will be held in the City Council Chamber on the 2nd floor at City Hall, 55 Trinity Avenue in downtown Atlanta.

Graphic shows the original proposal to extend both Moores Mill Road (at right) and Adams Drive (at left) to connect to Marietta Boulevard and to each other.

Graphic shows the original proposal to extend both Moores Mill Road (at right) and Adams Drive (at left) to connect to Marietta Boulevard and to each other.

Moore’s action is “an ordinance to transfer…appropriations in the amount of $800,000 in Transportation Development Impact Fees to partially fund the Moores Mill Road Extension project, said funds collected from new development within 2.5 miles of the project.”

South Carolina-based Edens Company has planned for almost a decade to develop a mixed-use project for a roughly triangular-shaped property bounded by Bolton Road, Coronet Way and Marietta Boulevard, which would replace the long-abandoned and blighted Moores Mill Shopping Center.

The extension of Moores Mill Road—from its present end at Bolton Road through the mixed-use project and ending at Marietta Boulevard—is critical to the opening of the retail component and the entire mixed-use project.

The mixed-use project would include a 45,600-square-foot anchor Publix supermarket, 11,800-square-foot CVS Pharmacy and 24,300 square feet of

Graphic shows the proposed Moores Mill Road extension through the Edens development, with the Publix market adjacent to the road.

Graphic shows the proposed Moores Mill Road extension through the Edens development, with the Publix market adjacent to the road.

retail shops and restaurants. It also would include a residential component of up to 345 units.

The estimated investment in the retail component is approximately $40 million and approximately $50 million to $60 million in the residential component. The mixed-use project is estimated to generate $2 million of annual sales tax revenue, 255 construction jobs and 284 permanent jobs.

This copy of an attachment to the Invest Atlanta resolution shows the site plan for the Publix market and renderings of the front, side and back elevations of the market.

This copy of an attachment to the Invest Atlanta resolution shows the site plan for the Publix market and renderings of the front, side and back elevations of the market.

Edens hopes to begin construction in the first quarter of 2016, with Publix and the retail shops and restaurants opening in the second quarter of 2017.

Due to years of delay in appropriation of approved federal funding for the road extension project, Edens proposed to build Phase 1 of the Moores Mill Road extension at its own expense and on land it owns. They have achieved a commitment from Invest Atlanta for $300,000 at present.

The $800,000 in Transportation Impact Fees Councilwoman Moore has requested with this ordinance will, when added to the Invest Atlanta $300,000, provide the total of $1.1 million needed to fully complete Phase 1 of the Moores Mill Road extension project.

Wording in Moore’s ordinance states, “Any unused portion of the appropriated impact fees for Moores Mill Road Extension Phase 1 shall be returned to the transportation impact fee account.

Councilwoman Moore has issued a plea for her district constituents and other interested parties to show up at the Finance Committee meeting Oct. 28 and the full council meeting Nov. 2 to voice their support for passage of the ordinance.

But for those unable to attend the meetings, she urges those people to call or email the Mayor and City Council members with their support at the following:
Mayor Kasim Reed – mkreed@atlantaga.gov 404.330.6100
Council President Ceasar Mitchell ccmitchell@atlantaga.gov 404.330.6052
District 1 Councilmember Carla Smith csmith@atlantaga.gov 404.330.6039
District 2 Councilmember Kwanza Hall khall@atlantaga.gov 404.330.6038
District 3 Councilmember Ivory L. Young ilyoung@atlantaga.gov 404.330.6046
District 4 Councilmember Cleta Winslow cwinslow@atlantaga.gov 404.330.6047
District 5 Councilmember Natalyn Archibong narchibong@atlantaga.gov 404.330.6048
District 6 Councilmember Alex Wax awan@atlantaga.gov 404.330. 6049
District 7 Councilmember Howard Shook hshook@atlantaga.gov 404.330.6050
District 8 Councilmember Yolanda Adrean yadrean@atlantaga.gov 404.330.6051
District 9 Councilmember Felicia Moore fmoore@atlantaga.gov 404.330.6044
District 10 Councilmember C.T. Martin cmartin@atlantaga.gov 404.330.6055
District 11 Councilmember Keisha Bottoms kbottoms@atlantaga.gov 404.330.6054
District 12 Councilmember Joyce Sheperd jmsheperd@atlantaga.gov 404.330.6053
Post 1 At-Large Councilmember Michael Bond mbond@atlantaga.gov 404.330.6770
Post 2 At-Large Councilmember Mary Norwood mnorwood@atlantaga.gov 404.330.6302
Post 3 At-Large Councilmember Andre Dickens adickens@atlantaga.gov 404.330.6041

Print Friendly

Be Sociable, Share!


    About the Author



    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    Back to Top ↑
    • Grab BuckheadView!

    • Follow Us

       

    • Visit Our Other Publications

    • Ad
    • Ad

    • BuckheadGuidebook